Entry 0044: Satan Summer Mix ’15–the Only Way to Combat the Heat, Baby

mc5

LP: Kick Out the Jams by MC5

1969 Elektra EKS-74042, CENSORED

Favorite Track: Kick Out the Jams

Yes, I have the original Kick Out the Jams where “motherfucker” is changed into “brothers and sisters”. The LP is a little water damaged buy plays fine. I love it a lot. Come listen to it with me.

A co-worker of mine asked me about a year ago to make a Satan-themed mix tape. I took too long in making it but I finally finished it up today. I strived to only put a couple of metal songs on the mix as a) I could easily do a whole metal mix with my eyes closed and b) metal is not her preferred music genre. Plus, I wanted to go back and forth between scary Devil songs and the Devil is My Best Friend songs. I am sure I forgot a few classics.

This mix tape is dedicated to the oppressive heat of summer. Here is the Satan Summer Mix ’15:

  1. Satan is Real – The Louvin’ Brothers
  2. Number of the Beast – Iron Maiden
  3. Running from the Devil – the Ohio Players
  4. The Devil’s Paintbrush Road – Wailin’ Jennys
  5. Crossroads – Robert Johnson
  6. Go to Hell – Alice Cooper
  7. Lucifer Over Lancashire – The Fall
  8. Devil’s Resting Place – Laura Marling
  9. Black Juju – Lydia Lunch & Rowland S Howard
  10. Running with the Devil – Van Halen
  11. Red Right Hand – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
  12. New Faith – Slayer
  13. Swamp – Talking Heads
  14. He’s Waiting – the Sonics
  15. Hessian Bodyfarm – Agoraphobic Nosebleed

Throw up those horns!

Leave a Reply

