Entry 0057: Personally Strict with Salt Man and Mirror Me

beefheartstrictly

LP: Strictly Personal by Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band

1968 Blue Thumb Records Stereo S1, BTS 1

Favorite Track: Kandy Korn

I may be hungry but I sure ain’t weird.

You’re a me and you’re a me ain’t no fat man’s toy sopping wet hammer thinkin’ a postman’s groovy. I ain’t blue no more mirror man. Salt Man gotta touch without take. In the mirror way, soft-cracker bats harp smiling yellow and orange and candy corn. Salt Man–the path is a mask of love. Beatles bones and smokin’ Stones, sorrows lollipop lands stick-broken with a telegram I said.

Oh mirror, mirror, red mirror, blue mirror, yellow sunset mirror. You’re a me and you’re a me big chicken legs beat when she walks let the lying lie. Aluminium rhythm whining trashcan blues. Mirror man, I never heard it put quite that way. We’re for you, Salt Man! Well my cigarette died when gracious ladies nylon sorta lazy sleazy cheesy harp cry “be reformed! be reborn!”

Can-can-can-can-can-mirror me.

Ol’ glass roosters–ye ole feathered kind–rolled around the corner turning up seven come eleven. The cheese in the corner with a mile long beard, golly golly. You gotta feel to reveal, Salt Man, Mirror Man, Salt Me, Mirror Me. Gon’ blow pure joy-girl, candy corn. I ain’t no golly golly anymore. Mirror Salt, Man Me. Me’re a you and Me’re a you dropped some drops in an ashtray. Saw a movie dropped the stamp and strawberry feels forever.

I blow rich electric bulb been out for years on the dark carnival ground. I ain’t no blue icebox inside looking like a harp smoke anymore. Salt Man harp kiss the dark, the light, the dark, the day. Stay stay stay warm.

I may be hungry but I sure ain’t weird.

2 thoughts on “Entry 0057: Personally Strict with Salt Man and Mirror Me

Leave a Reply

